Making progress.

So I’ve noticed that I only ever use this blog for events and photo shoots, and that’s really not right. I need to sort of throw in random things that I’ve been up to. I’m not as spacey and lazy as I may seem. Well, not always.

I missed finishing a whole lot of costumes for a couple of cons, but I’m still finishing them and moving on with my million-miles-long to-do list. I may have something to show for some of these eventually.

My big Shore Leave regret was not finishing Gwen Armstead (an NPC from the worgen starting zone in WoW). But not being in the masquerade gave me a little time to catch up to friends, and now she’s ready for other cons or photos or what have you.

I hand-painted the curlicue design on the overskirt.

I hand-painted the curlicue design on the overskirt.

#selfie #nomakeup #notamodel #softgrunge

#selfie #nomakeup #notamodel #softgrunge

Closer look. The lace and trim are hand-sewn.

Closer look. The lace and trim are hand-sewn.

Emily made me this awesome matching purse from the scraps. That's hand embroidery,

Emily made me this awesome matching purse from the scraps. That’s hand embroidery,

One I totally wanted done for Intervention, mainly because of the owl motif, was the waitress uniform from Twin Peaks. Sadly it was not to be, but it’s ready now.

Weird angle shot, but you can see the pockets now.

Weird angle shot, but you can see the pockets now.

Early shot of it on the dummy, sans pockets.

Early shot of it on the dummy, sans pockets.

There are others I’m plugging away at — the new Edgeworth redesign from Dual Destinies and another Doctor Who one (from this most recent series) … but I’ve also been having a fun time recreating one of Yunmao’s designs. Here’s a peek.

A very small peek.

A very small peek.

Since I got the photos together I’ve gotten more done, so when I do my next progress report I’ll show off the madness of it. This costume is being made entirely without a pattern. Which is … fun, to say the least.

Check back later for more stuff and things. Especially with a con just behind us.

 

 

Leave a Reply

