Nekocon 2013 ~ Equestria Girls

Love it or loathe it, My Little Pony: Equestria Girls was a thing. I ended up watching it specifically for a stint on the Greatest Movie EVER! podcast, but God help me, I kinda liked it. Helps that I’m a fan of the show proper. But even though the designs were a bit goofy and the tie-in merchandise is hideous, I did enjoy it. Certainly enough to cosplay from it.

Granted, my main reason for picking Sunset Shimmer (I’m more a Rarity girl) is because I already had her jacket from another costume. Making the skirt and top was the work of a weekend, and finding the rest was relatively easy. So I got together with Michael and Maya for a little EQG group.

Sunset Shimmer, Twilight Sparkle, and Pinkie Pie.

Sunset Shimmer, Twilight Sparkle, and Pinkie Pie.

Inviting Sunset Shimmer to a party is basically the worst idea.

Inviting Sunset Shimmer to a party is basically the worst idea.

Don't know why Twi is begging, the crown is in Principal Celestia's office.

Don’t know why Twi is begging, the crown is in Principal Celestia’s office.

Now, I’d told myself beforehand that I was gonna go and find me a Princess Twilight Sparkle to steal a crown from. I didn’t think I would find one, but by God …

... she walked right past my table!

… she walked right past my table!

I got a lot of compliments for this one — thanks very much! It’s a fun one to do, especially with those badass boots. I’m sure she’ll be out and about later (primarily because apparently people’s kids are asking to see her!?!?).

Not sure about other MLP:FiM costumes … I’ve considered Daring Do and/or Vinyl Scratch, but we’ll see. Too many costumes on my list already.

Leave a Reply

